100 Russian Engineers Who Changed Our Life

IMG_7397_сайт.jpg

Basic Element, one of Russia’s largest diversified industrial groups, has launched a new publishing project, a book “100 Russian Engineers Who Changed Our Life.” The book, published in Russian and English, is dedicated to the development of Russian engineering innovations over the last 300 years.

One of the project’s main tasks is to attract attention of a wide audience to the undeservingly forgotten names and discoveries of Great Russian engineers and to restore prestige and importance of engineering professions.

A part of the circulation was sent to technical universities and largest public libraries in the regions where the group’s companies operate including Leningrad region, Nizhny Novgorod, Irkutsk, Sverdlovsk and Krasnodar regions as well as the Republic of Khakassia. 

Basic Element’s book targets a wide audience.  


About the book

"100 Russian Engineers Who Changed Our Life" table of contents

A 500-page encyclopedia features over 4,000 unique illustrations of engineering masterpieces, photos and drawings. Leading Russian museums, private collectors and foreign archives provided information and illustrations for the book.

History of Russian engineering innovations...

1.jpg

The history of Russian engineering innovations in 18th-20th centuries is told in layman’s terms, illustrated with a large number of images, pictures, photographs and drawings. The destiny of each of the 100 inventions is portrayed through the life of their authors.

2.jpg

There are 11 chapters in the book. Each of them is dedicated to the specific milestone in engineering development in Russia, from the amateur inventors in 18th century to the industrial revolution and creation of the whole industries – metals industry, machine and aircraft manufacturing, film industry, military industrial complex, aerospace science etc.

3.jpg

The book features biographies of renowned engineers and inventors such as Mikhail Lomonosov, Pavel Yablochkov, Vladimir Shukhov, Pyotr Kapitsa, Vladimir Zvorykin, Mikhail Kalashnikov, Konstantin Tsiolkovsky. But there are also the stories of those undeservingly forgotten inventors including Fyodor Blinov (the first caterpillar tractor, 1888), Sergey Prokudin-Gorsky (color photography, early 20th century), Gleb Kotelnikov (the first backpack parachute, 1911), Friedrich Zander (space shuttle design in 1920-1930). More than a half of the stories are about forgotten breakthrough in Russian engineering and technology.

100 российских инженеров

IMG_7397_сайт.jpg

Компания «Базовый Элемент» реализовала издательский проект «100 российских инженеров, изменивших наш образ жизни». Подарочное издание выпущено на русском и английском языках, посвящено развитию инженерной мысли в России за последние 300 лет.

Одна из основных задач проекта – привлечение внимания широкой общественности к незаслуженно преданным забвению именам и открытиям великих русских инженеров, возрождение престижа и значимости этой профессии.

Часть тиража передана ведущим техническим вузам России, крупнейшим публичным библиотекам страны в основных регионах присутствия «Базового Элемента»: Ленинградской, Нижегородской, Иркутской, Свердловской областях, республике Хакасия, Краснодарском крае и др.

Издательский проект «Базового Элемента» рассчитан на самую широкую аудиторию.


О книге

Оглавление «100 российских инженеров, изменивших наш образ жизни»

500-страничный том содержит более 4000 уникальных иллюстраций, фотографий и чертежей. Материалы и иллюстрации для издания были предоставлены ведущими музеями страны, частными коллекционерами зарубежными архивами.

История русской технической мысли...

1.jpg

История русской технической мысли XVIII-XX веков изложена доступным языком. Судьба каждого из 100 открытий передана через призму жизни и судьбы инженеров, конструкторов, ученых, изобретателей.

2.jpg

В книге – 11 частей, каждая из них посвящена определенной вехе развития инженерного дела в России. Таким образом, издание охватывает все основные периоды развития инженерной мысли в нашей стране – от зачастую одиночных подвигов мастеров-самоучек ХVIII века до создания и развития целых отраслей – таких как металлургия, машиностроение, самолетостроение, кинопроизводство, военно-промышленный комплекс, ракетно-космический сектор и мн. др.

3.jpg

На страницах книги можно найти биографии как широко известных ученых и инженеров – таких как Михаил Ломоносов, Павел Яблочков, Владимир Шухов, Петр Капица, Владимир Зворыкин, Михаил Калашников, Константин Циолковский, - так и незаслуженно забытых: Федор Блинов (первый гусеничный трактор, 1888), Сергей Прокудин-Горский (цветная фотография в начале ХХ в.), Глеб Котельников (первый ранцевый парашют, 1911), Фридрих Цандер (проект космического корабля-челнока в 1920-1930-х). Больше половины описанных в издании биографий – это истории как раз забытых и полузабытых русских прорывов в развитии техники и технологии.

СМИ о книге

«Сто судеб, жизней, характеров – и сто изобретений, полностью изменивших облик цивилизации. Сто россиян, которым мы обязаны изобретением бензинового двигателя, гусеничного трактора, трамвая, лампы накаливания, светодиодов, синтетического каучука, фотопленки, киноаппарата, видеомагнитофона, музыкального синтезатора, парашюта… Об этих и других технических гениях коротко, но эмоционально рассказывается в книге, благородная цель которой – напомнить нам о том, как много могут фантазеры и мечтатели».

Книжное обозрение

Книжное обозрение, 01.02.2014